The Warrior (or Wolf) Within

I started reading the book “Unleash the Warrior Within” and the intro by the author Richard “Mack” Machowicz states a few things I felt really resonated with the wolfie voice within when it comes to alcohol.

Here’s an excerpt (and he’s a Navy Seal so some terminology has to do with his background but it fits for all) “What is the war within? It is the battle that takes place within our minds. Just like in real war, we have conflicting ideas that fight against one another. This conflict is internal and begins with that tiny voice within us that tells us we’re not capable – that we shouldn’t bother striving to overcome the challenges placed before us…. On one level, we believe we are capable of great things… But at the first sign of stress, fatigue, and fear that diminishing voice creeps in. Our mind begins to work against us. That tiny voice grows in intensity and volume. We hesitate. We begin to doubt our abilities.”

As I was reading this I was thinking about Wolfie and how he creeps into my head and how it really is like we’re at war on some days. It’s been pretty quiet on the battlegrounds as I embark on day 8 of the 100 day challenge.

My weekend has been super productive and I’ve been keeping so busy that time is flying by – with no time for the voices to act up. In my cleaning/de-cluttering, I found a page with goals I had set out to accomplish for 2013 and guess which one is on there?? Here’s part what I wrote “For 2013 my top priority is to be fit and healthy. To achieve this, I will make changes in my lifestyle including saying NO to alcohol more often and YES to trying new activities.”

So you see, this beast or opponent, ‘da Booze, has been on my mind for a very long time and the battle has been constant. I’m ready to move beyond the battles and onto victory now – starting with the completion of the 100 day challenge.

In the book (Unleashing the Warrior Within) – they talk about targets and weapons to use to achieve the success you seek. I would say my target is to be free of the thief ‘alcohol’ that has robbed me of much in life… and the weapon is this blog, the other bloggers with the same goal and my own inner strength and determination to reach the target/goal.

The outcome or return on effort for this is beyond measure. I know that my life will be so much better without the dependence or worry or planning around the next drink, how much, when, etc. I feel freed since joining the challenge because it’s a no brainer when I wake up and ask myself – what will I do today… drinking is NOT an option but so many other great things are!

Looks like mother nature may even be on my side and the rain they called for may not come as they had originally predicted so I’m signing off and starting my day with a walk by the river…

3 thoughts on “The Warrior (or Wolf) Within

  1. eacarrington2 says:

    Have a great walk. You are doing so well and I like the warrior analogy. and In a way we are all kind of wounded by alcohol. recovering day by day by its effects on us in the past. Alcohol was such an integral part of my life and I was starting to see a pattern that I did not like.
    You are brave and I am so proud of you. Great going and I wish you much luck in your journey. You are worthy of this effort!
    bizi

  2. losedabooze says:

    Thanks Bizi – the more I reflect, the more I realize I was not at a good place anymore with alcohol. Your support means a lot!

  3. Elle says:

    Great blog! Enjoy your walk.

Leave a Reply

