Proud of where I am

 

Image

 

I am proudly finishing up my 2nd week sober! Today was a good one too – walked over 6 miles, did some de-cluttering and purging some old stuff and it felt amazing. I have been procrastinating for a long time about going through my stuff – you know the ‘stuff’ you accumulate over the years. When I moved here over 4 years ago – I put a bunch of boxes and papers and junk downstairs and now it’s time to just make space for new things to come in. No more hoarding and holding on to old past memories (well with the exception of certain things of course). 

I am truly very proud to be where I am today. The month of May has been a key turning point for me – it started with an 11 day sober streak from April 29th and then my last weekend of drinking ending on Mother’s Day. Kind of a propos if you will – with the family issues I’m dealing with – that as a mom I have had to make some choices to make some changes. But in all honesty, it’s something I have been talking about for years!! I guess the crisis just pushed me to dive right in and make it happen for real this time – and I’m grateful for that. While times are tough emotionally around here, I know I’m stronger than ever and able to handle it. 

The teen years are tough… and I know they will pass. In the meantime, I will keep working at improving my life because one day my kids will be gone and I want to live a very full and positive life – striving to live my passions … to travel, write more, and perhaps share my life with my soulmate … I am technically still single … I did meet one man and not sure where it will go but taking it one day at a time – like anything else. 

The week ahead closes the month of May where I will have a record number of sober days in a long time… 28 days sober for the month! So yup – I’m giving myself a pat on the back and feeling better every day I ride in the sober car!!

 

3 thoughts on “Proud of where I am

  1. Elle says:

    You are doing so well! I hope to continue this journey with you. We are growing every day.

    The teen years do get better, but they never quite get it…I had a few words with my oldest son today…The other day I told him how proud I was of him…today I thought he acted like he was still in high school. It does get better, we just have to keep telling ourselves that…

    xoxo

  2. eacarrington2 says:

    You are deserving of this.
    It is hard work what you are doing.
    You are worthy of this effort!
    great blog by the way.
    bizi

  3. B. says:

    I just found your blog and wishing the best for you and your daughter. So proud on your goal of 100 day challenge. I’m starting my challenge too.

    B.

Leave a Reply

