Two weeks in the Sober Blogging World

I can’t believe it’s already been two weeks (May 15) since I joined other fellow bloggers who are trying to live a sober / alcohol free life! Of course it all started with the inspiration from Belle’s 100 day challenge. I am now wrapping up day 18 sober.

I am amazed at the support and incredibly inspiring blogs I am reading – that resonate with every part of my being – in what I am living, have lived, thought about or wondered about. It’s so refreshing to read that I’m not alone and that while each of our stories are unique, we have a common thread that ties us together – and that’s our drive to stay in the sober car.

I have accessed support via blogs through another website, but the focus was not solely on this task and for me to succeed, I think adding this to my tools is a must! I am so grateful to those who are following – as I then go check out their blogs and the link is made… Simply incredible this power in numbers and knowing that no matter what I might be going through – good or bad day – I can come here to read or chat even and get support.

Today was a good day. I went to work earlier and had the appointment with the psychiatrist for my 12 year old daughter. It was a good session overall and what hit me was when the psychiatrist asked me what I had in place for support through all of this as it has been quite challenging… I told her I did not have family and not many in person friends, but that I found support through my blogging and online support. That it’s a place for me to vent, to let go of my thoughts in a space that is free of judgement and totally supportive. It felt really good for her to say she thought I was doing an incredible job of managing it all – as I explained some of my coping strategies (exercising, eating healthy)… but I did not mention that I had quit the booze too!

I think that my choice to do this challenge at this point in my life is what is keeping me strong – and the support from the sober blogging world – incredible – even in just being able to read so many other stories … learning about the different stages and getting ideas on how to cope and manage in order to stay sober!

I am feeling incredibly grateful as I get ready for bed… at peace and truly happy to be where I am right now. Thank you Belle – the earth angel that is helping so many! And thank you to all other bloggers – I look forward to getting to know you better.

Helene

6 thoughts on “Two weeks in the Sober Blogging World

  1. Elle says:

    And thank you Helene for sharing and being an inspiration to all of us

  2. bizi says:

    great blog, rooting for you!
    bizi

  3. Erika says:

    Thank YOU Helene, for sharing with us. I think you are quite wonderful. I’m glad you started blogging. We are all connected 🙂

  4. lifecorked says:

    The sober blogging community is amazing! Just found your blog. Look forward to following your journey!

  5. no name says:

    I am starting my starting my sober journey now after fits and starts. I hope this time to stay successful. Gonna figure out my computer and blog too, so look for me I will be following you.

Leave a Reply

