A Winning Mentality – Meeting the Challenges

Image

 

I believe everyone in this sober blogging community is a WINNER because of your honesty, openness and braveness to take the challenge and ride that sober car. For some it’s been a while, for others, it’s relatively new. It really doesn’t matter where you are in that challenge – the important thing is that we are HERE – together!

I honestly have not felt this strong about taking on the challenge of being booze free in ages. I’m not sure why it’s different this time – perhaps because I dived into this new community. I know I owe a great deal of credit to Belle who’s incredible selflessness to answer emails from who knows how many people – I told her she’s an earth angel!!

Every day that I close sober, I feel that much better. I see people around me planning outings and events that all involve drinking. Even at work – they are now doing this ‘patio crashers’ gathering on Fridays about once or twice a month and I don’t attend. I know for me right now – it’s just easier not to be there (besides I really can’t afford to go out – nor can I be away from home too much with all the drama going on with my kids). 

Image

 

Sometimes I feel like this … just to ‘run away and hide’ from my parental responsibilities or at least get away from them somewhere nice. I did that in February when I went to Barbados (my 2nd trip in my life – the first one being 2 years ago). 

I know though that I have to stick it out and meet all of the challenges in my life and that karma will bring good to my life so long as I keep pushing and make the right choices. That includes deciding to stay sober for a while. 

I’m directing my energy into getting in the best physical shape of my life as a way to replace the idle time that is no longer wasted on drinking. With every workout I feel better and better – and becoming more and more addicted to the habit of doing them which is FABULOUS!!

I am really just putting myself out there – and while I know it’s important to not overwhelm myself, I believe I have a good balance going on right now. It’s all about body/mind/spirit – and each of these are much healthier without the daily doses of alcohol. The winning mentality is knowing that the sober life can be a greater life – and that we’re not missing out on anything by not drinking – rather we’re gaining so much more by riding the sober wagon. 

It feels good to let go of those things that truly no longer serve us… and with every day that passes (wrapping up day 25 today), I can see how much richer my life can be without the influence of alcohol or its after effects when we indulge. Cheers to US!! A Winning group of people!!

5 thoughts on “A Winning Mentality – Meeting the Challenges

  1. Elle says:

    Another fabulous blog. You are such a talented, honest writer. I hope you are working on your book! I think I will copy/paste some of your blogs to reread when I feel weak!!! xoxo

  2. bizi says:

    she is a good writer!

  3. losedabooze says:

    Thank you ladies… and my book is working in my head for now – but the blogging and flowing of ideas is constant.

  4. Lilly says:

    🙂 Lovely post. I love it. And that’s fabulous re the workouts! What kind of workouts are you doing? (I need to up my game in this regard)

    Love your attitude lady.

    x

    • losedabooze says:

      Right now I’m doing the 5 Factor Fitness program (includes strength training) and also mixing it up with walks, using DVDs (I have loads of them but my favourite is Turbo Jam). I really need to focus on toning up – going to be 47 come September and I plan on being in the best shape of my life.

Leave a Reply

