Often Enough

Every morning I start my day by reading affirmations and The Daily Motivator is one I visit and very often, like today, the message really hits home…

Often enough

Persistence is really quite simple, and extremely powerful. If you don’t get  it right the first time, see it not as a failure but as an opportunity for  another more informed and experienced attempt.

The best response to a disappointing result is more effort. Feel the  disappointment, let it make you more determined, and then move quickly to a  highly effective state of taking action.

Do what must be done, then do it again and again, and again. Even the  smallest action can have enormous impact when repeated often enough.

But how can you get back up when you’ve just fallen down? You do it by  reminding yourself it’s clearly the best choice, and then making the choice to  act in your own best interest.

Persistence is not always easy, yet it’s not particularly complicated either.  You’ve made the effort before, so it’s really not such a big deal to go ahead  and make it again.

Do that often enough, and your actions take on great power and effectiveness.  Do that often enough, and achievement is yours.

— Ralph Marston

Read more: http://greatday.com/motivate/index.html#ixzz2gYrdFvyW

I broke my AF streak at 24 days this time and I’m still not back to day 1. I have been having drinks daily – in moderation at the end of very full and productive days. It of course brings to question all my earlier promises and statements about “I don’t drink” and the reality I have to face that I’m not sure I can quit forever. I’m not even sure I can even do the infamous 100 day challenge. I know at one point I will get there as Belle put it because it’s on my list of things to do in life – go for a longer period of sobriety, but I guess I’m not there just yet. I will not give up though and I will persist and keep taking actions to improve myself. My ultimate goal is to live a healthy and happy life. What this picture will look like is still being developed.

Now that I’m into my fresh new space – my reality is I’m tired and still not settled in and I have to give myself a bit of a breather/break. My personal life challenges keep coming hard and fast – with kids who are refusing to go to school or getting suspended. My close friend who just learned her 18 month old daughter has leukemia. SHIT happens and I know this is NOT an excuse to drink by any means. I know it means if nothing else I have to be that much more present and I believe that I am. I am also acknowledging my need for some down time. I know that the down time doesn’t have to involve alcohol and I’ll get back to my AF streaking soon… Persistence is key! For those who are like me… don’t despair, don’t give up and keep fighting!! I’m not perfect, but I’m honest about where I am at on this journey. I may receive some judgement from those who don’t truly understand but that’s their judgement. What other people think of me is none of MY business. I’m doing this for ME and no one else. My blogging is my therapy and I share openly about what’s going on in my head so I can live well outside of my head.

6 thoughts on “Often Enough

  1. Elle says:

    You do have a lot going on. You aren’t drinking to excess. What if it takes 110 days to do the 100 day challenge? At least you are trying.

  2. I feel for you. I have been in the same position so many many times and so recently too. I am on my millionth day 2. All we can do is try, try and try again. I also feel that the honest acknowledgement and the lack of excuses and whiny justifications is a step on the path too.
    Take care of yourself.

  3. bizi says:

    I agree with elle, you are drinking in moderation, isn’t that what you wanted to do?
    rest often.
    bizi

    • losedabooze says:

      You are both right Bizi and Elle – so long as it’s moderate and not taking over my life and making me take negative turns, I’m going in the right direction bit by bit.

  4. I really need to hear that poem/affirmation today! Thank you for putting it out there…

Leave a Reply

