Daily Practice

Image

 

I’ve been saying NO to booze daily for 17 days now. I still have moments and fleeting thoughts about wanting some and the whole ‘romanticizing’ of how it would be so good. Then I keep doing that comparison of alcohol to those shitty relationships I’ve had with men in my life and how, while it was hard to let go, now that it’s done and over with, I see how it was the only way to go – to get to where I am today. Living a healthier life. 

Image

Those voices in my head still toy with me telling me I won’t do this again – that I’ll cave in. I still have dreams about drinking waking up feeling shitty about it. Amazing how even in a subconscious state the booze makes me feel so bad. Yet I still find myself thinking of the ‘good times’ and good feelings those initial drinks gave me. 

I have to keep reminding myself that I can only do this one day at a time. I have to remember not to look to far ahead and let go of the past slip ups and believe that YES this time is different! I need to build my confidence. As I blogged about on Soberistas – it takes 6 weeks before we can instill a new habit. I am almost now 3 weeks in so halfway there. I have another weekend coming up with the infamous Friday start tomorrow – and my new acronym of choice OFIF (I’m sure you can figure it out). Last weekend was a hard one with cravings. I’m hoping this one will be slightly easier as it’s my 3rd. 

Weekdays are no brainers and I don’t have any urges because I’m simply too busy. I guess the plan is to stay just as busy on weekends – and there sure is no lack of things for me to do. I just have to stop procrastinating and thinking of all the to do’s I have and just get to them! 

So here’s to believing I CAN do this and not listening to that devil’s voice, Mr. Unsuitable, Wolfie – whatever you call it! 

5 thoughts on “Daily Practice

  1. Elle says:

    Just review your list first:
    Feeling crappy
    Hangover
    Bloated
    Saying something you will regret
    No energy
    $$$ wasted
    Time wasted
    Calories
    Weight gain
    Bad decisions
    Etc., etc., etc.

  2. Good job on 17 days! I am finding that the weekends are getting a bit easier for me now! Keep going … it will get better. Planning activities that are alcohol-free helps. Especially healthy things like yoga class, hikes, breakfast out. Well, breakfast isn’t always super healthy, haha. 🙂

  3. I know that feeling–wanting that reward come the weekend! Weekdays, like you said, were too busy to drink–thank GOD. Weekends…they’re just harder. You want to know what’s changed for me? I actually totally look forward to all the free, SOBER time I’m going to have on the weekends now! I look at the weekends now as not time to fill up without wine, but stretches of time that are MY OWN, to do or just be. I think now, wow, how could I even have TIME to drink on the weekends now, with all the stuff I can do sober? I can’t believe now that I wasted so much of my weekend time drinking and being hung over/feeling shitty. It’s taken a while, but this shift will happen on its own, the longer you are sober. CONGRATS on 17!

    • losedabooze says:

      It’s true what you say about having more time to do stuff – and yet I am still finding there’s not enough time to do all I want to do. I guess it’s because I have a lot of catching up to do). I think it’s all the stuff I’ve talked about doing for years and procrastinated and wasted away drinking – I can’t expect to get it all done right away but bit by bit I’ll get there. Thanks for you support!

Leave a Reply

