Meditation for the Day

I have this little book I refer to “Twenty-Four Hours a Day” and while it is very much AA oriented – I grasp from it what I need to pull from it. Yesterday’s meditation was one I felt worth repeating here:

“In the new year, I will live one day at a time. I will make each day one of preparation for better things ahead. I will not dwell on the past or the future, only on the present. I will bury every fear of the future, all thoughts of unkindness and bitterness, all my dislikes, my resentments, my sense of failure, my disappointments in others and in myself, my gloom and my despondency. I will leave all these things buried and go forward, in this new year, into a new life.”

I’m going back to work today and back to being sober after too many days in a row of drinking. I am taking it one day at a time towards living my sobriety and pulling myself out of this funk/depression I’ve been in.

Today I deal with a HUGE financial worry as I write a letter to request approval to receive some financial relief. I pray that it will come through for me as I have been losing sleep over this. I am looking forward to going back to work and have a renewed sense of getting back to a healthy routine including healthy eating/drinking and daily exercising and meditating. ENOUGH of the low times – it’s time to make this DAY the best it can be! 

24 hours in a day – that is what we have to work with – so let us make it the best we can, one hour at a time if we must. 

4 thoughts on “Meditation for the Day

  1. Elle says:

    I’m praying for you. You are strong and smart, things will work out. Have faith.

  2. I read from the book daily, and while the first part is almost always AA based, the meditation and prayers are usually not. So you are right, you can take from them without being AA.

    I pray that you find your way, my friend…and that you get the financial assitance you need. Live for today. As you said, that is all we have 🙂

    Blessings and Happy New Year!

    Paul

  3. bizi says:

    wishing you a happy new year! good luck with your financial challenges, I hope they go your way and that you get assistance.
    bizi

Leave a Reply

