First Day AF Since Sept 10th! All Things Are Possible!

11

I can’t believe it took me this long to finally get that “Day 1” back in but it’s DONE! And now with new perspective… with the move and much of the stress at lower levels… and the realization that if I want to lose some weight – daily alcohol doesn’t fit into the formula. And so my goal is to be AF until Friday and only allow myself 1 or 2 days a week when I have drinks. And the rule is to ensure the days I do decide to have drinks – it’s for positive social reasons – and not to ‘numb’ anything or escape anything.

What is definitely helping is having met someone I’ve been able to develop a companionship with. I’ve been lonely and THAT has been my BIGGEST reason for drinking… the whole HALT analogy has to be used before I decide to eat/drink (am I Hungry, Angry, Lonely or Tired). If I am any of these then I need to find other ways of coping. I don’t want booze to be a crutch in my life. I also don’t want to say no to booze forever.

So I am feeling inspired again that this is possible. Here’s to a great week ahead!

1a

2 thoughts on “First Day AF Since Sept 10th! All Things Are Possible!

  1. SC says:

    Hey, I just found your blog, so sorry if I’m late to the party with this comment, but I totally agree with you.

    At some point, I will end my functional abstinence and will choose to drink again, putting into place everything I’ve learned about myself over this stretch of time.

    I don’t like the idea of having “rules” around drinking, but my perspective will be, “I will only choose to take a drink if I don’t feel like I *need* a drink.”

    Very similar to your idea about not taking a drink for any negative HALT triggers.

    https://parkinglotpushups.wordpress.com/

    • losedabooze says:

      Good motto to take it when it’s not a ‘need’ but a pleasure. My newest rule is also to make sure I don’t drink 2 days in a row. Unless I’m on vacation or something then it would be an exception.

Leave a Reply

