Gearing up to 30 Days AF

df97a7852398fe9ae1ff346a811f53bc set-goal

It’s been a while since my last post… July 10th – the day I signed up as a ‘coach’ with Beachbody. Now I’m coming back to basics of the ‘why’ I’m not achieving my fitness/weight loss goals and a BIG one is ‘da booze!

Since my last post – I’m still with the man I mentioned and things are better. He has purchased the home and is almost done dealing with the settling of his estate matters which were a bit draining on our relationship as it dealt with his past stuff.

Since my last post – my daughter is having some difficulties again… and ME well – I’m reverting to coping by drinking daily and it’s not healthy! However – my motivation to stop is low and so I’m trying to mentally prepare myself to launch into a 30 day AF stretch. I have tried a few times and failed… I have tried in the past and succeeded…

I’m launching a fit club at work on Monday and I’m going to publicly announce my goal to change one thing for 30 days (something my therapist suggested I do – pick ONE thing at a time to change) and the BIG one is to NOT drink for 30 days (which will of course unleash a bunch of other benefits like keeping busy by doing other healthier things like working out).

My focus has been out of whack and I need this stretch to reach some clarity and peace in my life again … I have TONS of great positives going for me and I don’t want to self-sabotage any of it.

The ‘old’ me thinking that I don’t deserve this good is being BOOTED out! I DO deserve all the good that is coming my way and ‘da booze is not going to make me believe otherwise. I still am not ready to quit for good as I do like it but definitely recognize a need to RESET to moderation and if as the links explain 30 days isn’t enough… then I may have to go longer. The guidelines to reviewing if I’m ready to drink again after the period of abstinence…

  • Step 3: Examine how drinking has affected our lives.
  • Step 4: Write down our life priorities.
  • Step 5: Take a look at how much, how often, and under what circumstances we used to drink.
  • Step 6: Learn the MM guidelines and limits for moderate drinking.

For me the biggest consideration is how drinking hinders my forward movement on with greater things … including making headway with my coaching. I must walk the talk and lead by example!

1e9d9f191bd6837aaa9f14cae4c4f5610

3 thoughts on “Gearing up to 30 Days AF

  1. Em says:

    I believe in you!

  2. thirstystill says:

    Good luck with the month off the booze. I’ve gone back and forth a few times, but I’ve come to the conclusion that drinking just doesn’t work for me anymore. But even if you’re still looking for a way to drink sometimes, the time away is a great break for you physically and mentally. One of the bloggers I follow–she’s really great!–is part of Moderation Management, and she doesn’t drink anymore but is part of a group on that site that talks about taking periods of abstinence while figuring out moderation. I thought Id send you the link, just in case that’s interesting or helpful to you. Anyway, nice to hear from you again. best to you! xo

    http://godwalkedintothisbar.blogspot.ca/2015/10/abs-chat-tonight-stop-by-and-say-howdy.html

Leave a Reply

