Day 1 – Time Travel Technique

I am coming to journal about my experience (exercise number 5) of the Day 1 – 30-Day Sobriety Solution.

I listened to the audio of the Time Travel Technique and was really amazed at how the visualization of seeing myself maintaining the same pattern of drinking that I have been in for another 5 or 10 years. How I would look like, how I would feel, what my life would look like and I could feel the knot forming in my chest because I didn’t like what that would be like. I know only too well from close loved ones near me who succumbed to drinking too much and how it affected their lives. I know that is NOT what I want for my life.

The second part of the exercise was to visualize myself in a year,  5 years and 10 years – but having changed my way of life so that alcohol no longer controls any part of my life and I have a take it or leave it attitude when it comes to having a drink. WOW – that’s how I want to feel and visualizing how I would be physically strong, lean and glowing with health. Visualizing the success I’d have in my career and possibly my second career in coaching. Visualizing the financial freedom I would have in comparison to the struggles I’ve experienced over the years … Visualizing this lovely relationship I have now (met my lovely partner on Oct 31, 2014) flourishing in wonderful ways instead of seeing the opposite – having me sabotage it or drive him away.

The booze in my life has indeed been used to mask many things – things I was avoiding facing or just scared to change for fear of the unknown but I feel I am ready now. It’s ironic how they speak of the time line because for me – this year is all about that as I turn 50 in September. I view this year as a new beginning into the next half century of my life – being healthier and fitter than ever!

I want to be that woman that people see and say ‘wow you look great’! Not the one that people see and secretly say ‘wow she looks worse for wear’. I want to be glowing with the passion I have inside me.

And so I’ve decided that my official Day 1 of this program will be on February 1st and I am 100% committing to a 60 Day Reboot! YES – you heard me not the 30 days I was originally thinking of but 60! I have done a 30 before and while it’s been a long time – I’ve never done a 60 in ages and with my trip / vacation coming up April – I want a good clean 60 days to reset my mindset so that this vacation will be unlike any other I’ve ever had. One that will be family oriented and not focused on drinking. One focused on activities to bring us all closer.

I hope you’ll follow along … as I launch into this fully on February 1, 2016.

1

 

 

3 thoughts on “Day 1 – Time Travel Technique

  1. What about super bowl weekend? You have some wonderful goals. Your blog was great!

  2. losedabooze says:

    Reblogged this on Lose 'da Booze and commented:

    I’m starting over on Day 1 and as I review this post… I know that I really need to stop talking and start ‘walking’ the talk. I’m taking it one day at a time and reviewing the posts until I’m caught up and will dive back into the book to pick up where I left off (on Day 18).

Leave a Reply

