Day 5 – Believe in Yourself

believe-in-yourself

Today is day 5 AF for me and I’m at Day 5 of The 30-Day Sobriety Solution book/exercises. The actions steps for today include:

  1. Review the List of Teetotalers (it’s quite an impressive list although many I don’t know – I was in fact surprised by a couple of names on there). It’s nice to see those that don’t drink but frankly – because I’ve been exploring this, I’ve learned of more and more people that abstain. It’s like when you buy a certain car – you start seeing the same make/mode it everywhere after that. When you are sober – you find those like you out there.
  2. Stop using the word can’t – this is a BIG one for me not so much out loud because I always start any project or goal with intentions of “Yes I Can” but that sometimes wavers because in my head I still have that voice of low self-esteem that doubts my abilities. With years of reading on positive affirmations and learning to change the way I think – this too is progressing so that I do believe I CAN do this. Proof is in the program I started on January 4th – and I’m still sticking with it… This book now is my NEW ‘Yes I Can’ do this project!
  3. Write Down Examples of Using Confirmation Bias with Your Drinking… Well you know this one is relatively the same. When I decide I’m going to give in and have drinks, I seek out my friends asking or saying – I’ve been good all week so I should be ok to have a couple of days off. I research or seem to find articles that back up or justify my giving in when it suits my purpose. I know there are tons of views on the matter of whether I should cut back completely or see if I can moderate and for now without even using a bias I’m just ok with regaining some control with this re-boot.

There was a part in today’s chapter that spoke about doing a vacation without alcohol. I’m now planning a trip to visit my family and friends back home at the end of March which is just shy of my 60 days commitment. It’s Easter and it will be after lent – and so already in my head I’m saying it would be ok to have some then… but then I think of how I said I was 100% committed to doing this 60 days. Imagine their surprise if I visit and don’t drink (because much of the activity when I visit usually revolves around drinking). I know I can do this if I affirm I will – today I will just say for now I’m happy with being sober on a Friday night and looking forward to  a great night’s sleep and productive weekend ahead!

Leave a Reply

