Day 7 – Completion of Phase I

3add89793ea68425b9e9514f11157967

When I read today’s chapter and realized I completed Phase I, I was very pleased with myself. I made it through the weekend – with my bf drinking in front of me and I opted for my AF drinks.

I even had a really difficult day on Saturday morning – learning that my daughter (who is not living at home anymore) was quite ill during the past week and seeing her and how ill she looked broke my heart. She didn’t want to tell me because she didn’t want to worry me. Then I also had to deal with some matters with the one who is living at home today – feeling quite frustrated. All of these would have been excuses or triggers to reach for a drink, but I remain 100% committed to the very least 30 days, and likely until Easter or even the full 60 days.

I loved how they compared how we sometimes crave sugar when we abstain from alcohol and how they compared it also the lyrics of this song from Maroon 5 (Adam Levine Lead singer) ….

I’m hurting, baby, I’m broken down
I need your loving, loving
I need it now
When I’m without you
I’m something weak
You got me begging, begging
I’m on my knees

I don’t wanna be needing your love
I just wanna be deep in your love
And it’s killing me when you’re away, ooh, baby,
‘Cause I really don’t care where you are
I just wanna be there where you are
And I gotta get one little taste

I have to say I was somewhat craving the alcohol on a few occasions – even dreaming about it, but holding strong in my 100% resolve.

They also provided this great Detox Smoothie I may give a try:

The Alcohol Detox Smoothie

Blend the following ingredients in your blender for about 30 seconds.

  • 2 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries • 2 ripe bananas (We also like to freeze our bananas; peel them first and cut into pieces) • 8 ounces of coconut water or coconut milk • 1 tablespoon of almond butter • Protein powder
  • 50 drops of extract of milk thistle (available online or from your local health food store)-  Alternatively, you could take a 500mg or 1000mg milk thistle capsule with your smoothie)
  • Ice cubes

Drink for breakfast with your other supplements.

They also shared this great You Tube video which reinforces the WHY I’m also doing this – to cut back on my drinking and get healthier to live longer!

I am ready for Phase II!

 

 

Leave a comment