Day 13 – The Tapping Solution

tapping-points-numbered1-e1367427804654

I have heard of the Tapping Solution but have never tried it -until now (although my craving for alcohol today is already at a ZERO). There’s a demonstration here with Nick Ortner .

Below is some of the material from the book and the website:

After you watch the video, here are some reminder steps to get you started:

The Basic Tapping Protocol
1.) Decide what issue you want to tap on (use your Most Pressing Issue, or MPI).
2.) Determine your level of discomfort—the intensity of the feeling or belief.
3.) Create your “setup statement.” (example: Even though I really crave a drink so badly I am not sure I can abstain, I totally and completely love myself)
4.) Choose a “reminder phrase.” (example: this craving to drink)
5.) Tap through the points: in the order as pictured above
6.) Add a positive choice statement to say while you are tapping. (example: even though I have this desire/craving for alcohol, I choose to be free from it… I choose to have a glass of club soda… I choose to be free from this craving)

If you find yourself having negative thoughts when you are repeating your vision statement or affirmation, then simply use the tapping technique to tap them away. Here’s an example:

  • Eyebrow: Even though alcohol makes me feel happy and relaxed…
  • Outside of the Eye: I choose to wake up feeling excited, vibrant, and passionate about living a meaningful and fulfilling sober life.
  • Under the Eye : Even though I have a lot of stress…
  • Under the Nose: I choose to wake up feeling excited, vibrant, and passionate about living a meaningful and fulfilling sober life.
  • Chin: Even though alcohol makes me feel happy and relaxed…
  • Collarbone: I choose to wake up feeling excited, vibrant, and passionate about living a meaningful and fulfilling sober life.
  • Under the Arm:  Even though I have a lot of stress…
  • Top of the Head: I choose to wake up feeling excited, vibrant, and passionate about living a meaningful and fulfilling sober life.

Tapping Away Your Cravings: Sometimes troublesome thoughts and feelings may arise when you are tapping on a craving. If this occurs, tap on those feelings as well. Tapping on cravings themselves is often successful, but identifying and clearing specific childhood events that underlie drinking is the deepest, most thorough way to apply tapping to cravings and addictions.

In reading this chapter, they talked about the reason I was using alcohol – and asked us to review the forgiveness solution (Day 4). For me it was all about forgiving myself for all the ‘stuff’ that happened. They gave examples… and of those I could say I had experienced the following – the job loss, the bankruptcy, the cheating husband who left me for another woman, the divorce, the loss of a loved one…

But where I stand today – is not where I was. I am much stronger and I am proud to say I’ve completed my 16 AF day!! My desire to drink is still there – and I know I will have some again, but I do believe after this reboot – my view on it will have changed to a point where I can truly enjoy it with a take it or leave it attitude, knowing that there’s so many other great things that make me feel good! I’ve got a LOT of great ‘right’ things going on with me now! And for that I’m truly grateful!

inspirational%20(11)

Leave a Reply

