Day 16 – The Quality Question

WiseFacebookStatusMindPictures-7212

The quality of your life is dramatically affected by the quality of the questions you ask yourself on a daily basis.

I am on day 26 AF and reading chapter 16. It’s a great one… that asks us about ‘how’ we ask our questions and that asking starting with ‘why’ is not the best but rather – we should ask ‘what’ or ‘how’ … Here are some great examples taken from the companion website – and I’m adopting this one as my 30 day Vision Statement Question:

“How can I wake up every day feeling excited, vibrant, and passionate about living a meaningful and fulfilling sober life?”

The quote for today was this one:

Neuroscientists estimate that your unconscious database outweighs the conscious on an order exceeding ten million to one. This database is the source of your creative potential. In other words, a part of you is much smarter than you are. The wisest people regularly consult that smartest part.

~Michael Gelb

I hadn’t read the chapters for some time and I’ve been sick for a few days. I’m feeling cooped up and was having thoughts about having a drink so I decided to read. My goal is to for sure get my 30 days in – after that – I may allow myself a once a week treat to drinks socially with my bf.

When I think of the questions I need to ask myself surrounding this easing back into allowing drinks is “What do I want most out of life?” and the answer is always my health and vitality and to feel good. How will I get that? By continuing with mostly the 80/20 rule of healthy eating, exercising and limiting alcohol in my life so that it never becomes a regular habit as it was for so many years.

I’m going to post some of the other great questions from the website here as I want them in my blog for reference as well… And some I can come back to read regularly.

These are some great questions to ask yourself to get clarity on what you want in life.

  • How can I get excited about my sobriety?
  • How can I meet people that enable my sobriety?
  • How can I get the sparkle in my eyes, so to say, that others seem to have without drugs and alcohol?
  • How do I create pure excitement and joy in embracing everything in this program and the work that I need to do?
  • What truth am I talking about in my life but not quite embodying?
  • When I get to end of my life, what would I have done to feel like I lived, loved, and made a difference?
  • What do I want my legacy to be?
  • How do I want to be remembered?
  • What could I do today that would make today more enjoyable than ever?
  • What can I do to have a breakthrough in my life and sobriety?
  • How can I become financially abundant right now and love doing it?
  • I wonder what will happen today that will make today amazing.
  • What was funny about that that I might be overlooking?
  • What can I notice today that I haven’t noticed before?
  • What can I do today to become financially secure now and in the future?
  • What can I do today to meet my goals of overall health and fitness?
  • What would I do if I wasn’t afraid?
  • What is my dharma/purpose/reason for being on the planet?
  • What is it that I, and only I, can give to the world?
  • If I had only six months to live, what would I do?
  • If I met a genie and he gave me three wishes, what would I ask for?
  • Who has had biggest impact positively in my life and what did they do?
  • If I had all the money and time in the world, what would I do?

Certainly lots of food for thought…

One thought on “Day 16 – The Quality Question

  1. Cherie says:

    Wow, so many thoughts, goals, when I had the head cold going on, I wanted a drink to, anything to feel better. I caved one day, bought a small wine, had a glass, felt bad cause I wasn,t trusting me, I poured out the rest. thank God!
    You have a wonderful gift of blogging on this subject.

Leave a Reply

