Day 1 – Time Travel Technique

I’m starting over on Day 1 and as I review this post… I know that I really need to stop talking and start ‘walking’ the talk. I’m taking it one day at a time and reviewing the posts until I’m caught up and will dive back into the book to pick up where I left off (on Day 18). Some of what I wrote well – I feel differently about now because of an ‘alcohol’ related incident that happened on my trip that brought me to a place of fear. I need to get some SOBER clarity on what I want my life to look like as I prepare to move in with this man at the end of August – right before my 50th Birthday… that milestone birthday that my sister had and then passed just a few months later because of her drinking issues (she drank herself to death). I want to be #Fitby50 – not dead at 50!

Lose 'da Booze

I am coming to journal about my experience (exercise number 5) of the Day 1 – 30-Day Sobriety Solution.

I listened to the audio of the Time Travel Technique and was really amazed at how the visualization of seeing myself maintaining the same pattern of drinking that I have been in for another 5 or 10 years. How I would look like, how I would feel, what my life would look like and I could feel the knot forming in my chest because I didn’t like what that would be like. I know only too well from close loved ones near me who succumbed to drinking too much and how it affected their lives. I know that is NOT what I want for my life.

The second part of the exercise was to visualize myself in a year,  5 years and 10 years – but having changed my way of…

View original post 375 more words

Leave a Reply

