Take Two – Day 14

1810206aad175c71c7aed28145bcd246

I’m nearing the halfway point to the 30 days AF. I have not been as mindful about counting the days and it seems to help. I am trying to live more in the moment and recognize my triggers and when/why or what seems to give me those cravings.

The weekends are definitely harder – just out of habit as most will enjoy a drink on the weekend, there are social activities and events. This Friday I came close to having one – but poured my diet pepsi with lime instead (no vodka). I watched others drink and I sipped my AF drink. I felt great about it the next day of course.

So I’m wrapping up the 2nd weekend and feeling stronger for sticking to my plan! Tomorrow I present to my workplace about choosing ONE thing to change when we are trying to achieve better health – this was mine – to abstain from alcohol for 30 days and now I can proudly say I am on track!

3 thoughts on “Take Two – Day 14

  1. kataba says:

    Keep up the good work! I’m on Day 2 for myself. This is my first try. I hope to make it to 30 days, but if I can get there, I may try to turn it into a lifelong decision. Reading your blog is giving me inspiration!

    • losedabooze says:

      I’m sending you motivation to make your FIRST 30 days and as you say – then decide if you want to do it for longer. I know personally I don’t want to quit for good, but if I find that I can’t be as moderate as I would like to be then that may be the option for me too. We can only take it as we go along, one day at a time.

      • kataba says:

        Thanks! It’s all about finding balance and figuring out what works best for the individual. I’m in my 30s, but I’ve seen the affect alcohol has had on my dad, who is in his 60s. When moderation isn’t happening, it can really take its toll on both his life and his relationships with everyone around him. I’d like to feel as healthy as possible by the time I turn 35 in a few years, and I want to make sure I don’t let any substance affect my interpersonal relationships or the way I feel about myself. I do love a good craft beer, particularly stouts and sours, though, so we’ll see if I can allow myself one every now and then.

Leave a Reply

