Day 1 of …

dear-august-please-be-hello-august-pic-sayings-1405928122n8gk4

Capping off my first day AF since July 25th – and only had 11 days in July without drinks. With the new month comes new goals and as hard as it may be – I really would like to make it mostly AF if not completely.

I’ve been thrown off my game with life stuff happening with my kids and my partner getting hurt at work. I manage the burden and stress with binge eating/drinking – and feel like crap again. My anxiety is up. My mind is overthinking and negative.

So I woke up this morning and decided to start a new workout program to switch things up. This week would have been my vacation week at a cottage we had rented but those plans had to be cancelled – so I am going to suck it up and make use of the time to get ready for my move August 27th.

I also have a BIG event on Saturday where I’ve been asked to share my story … and it will include this struggle around balance with ‘healthy’ alcohol consumption. It will be a tribute to my sister who at the age of 50 passed because of her excessive drinking. As I am now 33 days away from my 50th – I want my legacy to be different. I want to inspire change and I want to motivate others who may be living similar experiences.

I’m grateful for the opportunity to share – as scary as it is to put it out there – I think that by being honest and true – well that’s what will ultimately help me to help others.

So here’s to a NEW month … I’m looking forward to the New Moon tomorrow and the manifestations it will bring for me!

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of …

  1. ainsobriety says:

    How about no program, no plan, no diet…just no drinking?
    It’s a hard thing to be alcohol free when trapped in addiction. Those other restrictions don’t help, they just tire us out.

    Take care. Find support. Alcohol free is so much simpler…

    • bornfree says:

      I meant to reply to your comment instead posted below. The simple non-negotiable freedom of being alcohol free is so powerful. It really is so much simpler. It took me a long time to figure that out. I guess we have to be ready. For me, the analogy of the bad boyfriend, trying to make a bad relationship work rings true. It sucks up so much energy, and the outcome will never be a good one. Not for my anyway. I am grateful for my freedom. Now anything is possible. All the best to you LDB.

Leave a Reply

